Race information

J. Lorenzo of the Yamaha Factory Racing is the 2012 MotoGP Series Champion!

Round 17 of MotoGP was held in Australia on October 28th, 2012, where J. Lorenzo raced his way to second place for the EXEDY sponsored Yamaha Factory Racing team. From his accumulated points in his second place finish, the Spaniard was able to clinch the series championship for his second time.

This season's 17 rounds were dominated by Lorenzo as he accumulated 6 first-place finishes and 10 second-place finishes. His skill was unmatched this season as he marched his way to become the series champion.

Lorenzo on the Victory Podium

MotoGP2012 Race Schedule

Race Date Jorge Lorenzo Ben Spies
Rd.1 Qatar GP April 8th Winner 11th place
Rd.2 Spanish GP April 29th 2nd place 11th place
Rd.3 Portuguese GP May 6th 2nd place 8th place
Rd.4 French GP May 20th Winner 16th place
Rd.5 Catalunya GP June 3rd Winner 10th place
Rd.6 British GP June 17th Winner 5th place
Rd.7 Dutch TT June 30th DNF 4th place
Rd.8 German GP July 8th 2nd place 4th place
Rd.9 Italian GP July 15th Winner 11th place
Rd.10 United States GP July 29th 2nd place DNF
Rd.11 Indianapolis GP August 19th 2nd place DNF
Rd.12 Czech GP August 26th 2nd place DNF
Rd.13 San Marino GP September 16th Winner 5th place
Rd.14 Aragon GP September 30th 2nd place 5th place
Rd.15 Japan GP October 14th 2nd place DNF
Rd.16 Malaysian GP October 21th 2nd place DNF
Rd.17 Australian GP October 28th 2nd place -
Rd.18 Valencian GP November 11th